BBC Africa – the greatest show on earth?

turtle africa

The work that BBC Earth has been producing over the last couple of decades (Frozen Planet, Blue Planet, Life, and so on) has been utterly peerless in its beauty, scale and  innovation, but I have to say the most recent series focusing on Africa might just be my favourite.

Watching the series felt to me like a hugely varied journey, in both a physical and emotional sense. As it moves from the Sahara and Kalihari Deserts to the atmospheric Congo, from the expansive Savannah to the roaring ocean currents around the great southern Cape, the drama and imagery is at times exuberant, playful, and moving, at other terrifying, heartbreaking, and bleak. It is consistently gripping and full of surprises – not least of which for me was how little I knew about the diversity and variety of this wonderful continent.

I don’t know if a series has ever made me want to go somewhere so much.

And apparently, I’m not the only one to feel this way. I recently came across this article outlining the huge boost that the series has had on sales of African safari holidays. Is this a good or a bad thing?

Standard

Leave a Reply

